header

Review: Scarlet by A. C. Gaughen


Scarlet by A. C. Gaughen
Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Walker Childrens
Date Published: 26 February 2013 (originally 14 February 2012)
Age Level: Young Adult
Source: Purchased
Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes and Noble | IndieBound
Many readers know the tale of Robin Hood, but they will be swept away by this new version full of action, secrets, and romance.

Posing as one of Robin Hood’s thieves to avoid the wrath of the evil Thief Taker Lord Gisbourne, Scarlet has kept her identity secret from all of Nottinghamshire. Only the Hood and his band know the truth: the agile thief posing as a whip of a boy is actually a fearless young woman with a secret past. Helping the people of Nottingham outwit the corrupt Sheriff of Nottingham could cost Scarlet her life as Gisbourne closes in.

It’s only her fierce loyalty to Robin—whose quick smiles and sharp temper have the rare power to unsettle her—that keeps Scarlet going and makes this fight worth dying for.




Oh my goodness, I've found an all new love for Robin Hood. A. C. Gaughen has given us an absolutely fantastic retelling of this great outlaw hero story. I loved it all. The humor, the action, the attitude, the... everything! The only thing I didn't like was how long it took me to finally read it!
divider

Review: Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd


Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publishing Date: 28 January 2014
Age Level: Young Adult
Source: eARC from NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes and Noble | IndieBound
To defeat the darkness, she must first embrace it.

Months have passed since Juliet Moreau returned to civilization after escaping her father's island—and the secrets she left behind. Now, back in London once more, she is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget Dr. Moreau’s horrific legacy—though someone, or something, hasn’t forgotten her.

As people close to Juliet fall victim one by one to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes, Juliet fears one of her father’s creations may have also escaped the island. She is determined to find the killer before Scotland Yard does, though it means awakening sides of herself she had thought long banished, and facing loves from her past she never expected to see again.

As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in the midst of a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, past bubbling to the surface, life threatened by an obsessive killer—Juliet will be lucky to escape alive.

With inspiration from Robert Louis Stevenson’s The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this is a tantalizing mystery about the hidden natures of those we love and how far we’ll go to save them from themselves.

About a year ago, my book club decided to read The Madman's Daughter by Megan Shepherd. I had my reservations - as it promised to be quite creepy and likely to make me have nightmares - but I put those reservations aside and dove in. Boy am I glad I did! The Madman's Daughter is one of my top favorite books of 2013. Needless to say, when I had the opportunity to review the sequel, I jumped at the chance. I can't tell you how happy I am that Her Dark Curiosity is just as deliciously dark and captivating as the previous book. Since this is a review for a sequel, I will warn that there may be spoilers for the first book.
divider

Cover Reveal: Kiss of Fire by Rebecca Ethington (+ Giveaway)

Welcome to the cover reveal for Rebecca Ethington's Kiss of Fire! This book has a received a brand new cover makeover, and I have to say, it's amazing! I know I'm definitely intrigued by this book even more, simply because of the cover. I want to know the symbolism! Guess I'll just have to check it out, huh?

So! Moving on to the cover reveal! Without further ado, here's the new cover for Kiss of Fire! (Psst... be sure to enter the giveaway and check out Rebecca's other books at the bottom of this post!)
divider

Review: Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee


Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee
Hardcover: 240 pages
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release Date: 28 January 2014
Age Level: Middle Grade
Source: eARC from NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository | IndieBound
A modern-day fairy tale set in a mysterious museum that is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Blue Balliett.

Unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard doesn't believe in anything that can't be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia's help.

As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy's own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale is about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.


Every now and again you come across a book that captures your heart and imagination so well, it's difficult to step away from the magic and mystery for even a second. Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy is one of those books. Karen Foxlee has given the world of literature a charming, well-written, touching novel that will appeal to readers of all ages.
divider

2014 Reading Goals and Challenges!

Welcome to 2014!

I simply can't believe 2013 has come and gone! Yeesh! With another year gone, I have been thinking a lot about what I want to accomplish this year. Last year was kind of difficult, so I've decided this will year will not be the same! So what does a new year and new outlook mean for this blog? I have a few ideas...

Some Goals for the New Year!

First, I think I might step away from the Top Ten Tuesday (TTT) meme for right now. I joined TTT as a way to meet bloggers, discover more book blogs and get my baby blog out there, as well. It was also a way to make sure I was posting something on a regular basis. I definitely enjoyed being part of TTT - and I may even pop in every now and again - but I think I'm going to take a break from it for a little bit. The hope is that I might be able to come up with more original posts this year. Maybe I'll even write more personal posts, as those are some of the things I enjoy reading most on other blogs I visit. I'm not quite sure. Regardless, I want to try something different. On another note, I'm still going to take part in the Tune in Tuesday meme on my other blog, Kaleidoscopic Reveries. I've been part of this meme since I first started blogging and I love that I get to share and discover music each week!
divider

Blog Tour: Defy by Sara B. Larson (Review + Giveaway)

http://www.rockstarbooktours.com/2013/12/tour-schedule-defy-by-sara-b-larson.html

Welcome to the blog tour for Defy by Sara B. Larson! I'm really excited to be part of the tour for this wonderful debut! Be sure to check out the other tour stops by clicking the banner above. Also, meet the author and enter the tour-wide giveaway (for US addresses) below!



Defy by Sara B. Larson
eARC: 336 pages
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publishing Date: 7 January 2013
Age Level: Young Adult
Source: Provided for tour in exchange for an honest review
A lush and gorgeously written debut, packed with action, intrigue, and a thrilling love triangle.

Alexa Hollen is a fighter. Forced to disguise herself as a boy and serve in the king's army, Alex uses her quick wit and fierce sword-fighting skills to earn a spot on the elite prince's guard. But when a powerful sorcerer sneaks into the palace in the dead of night, even Alex, who is virtually unbeatable, can't prevent him from abducting her, her fellow guard and friend Rylan, and Prince Damian, taking them through the treacherous wilds of the jungle and deep into enemy territory.

The longer Alex is held captive with both Rylan and the prince, the more she realizes that she is not the only one who has been keeping dangerous secrets. And suddenly, after her own secret is revealed, Alex finds herself confronted with two men vying for her heart: the safe and steady Rylan, who has always cared for her, and the dark, intriguing Damian. With hidden foes lurking around every corner, is Alex strong enough to save herself and the kingdom she's sworn to protect?

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17981400-defy


I have been a fan of this genre for as long as I can remember. Give me a fantasy book and I'm happy as a lark. When I saw the opportunity to read Defy, I had to jump at it! Oh my goodness, I'm so happy I had the chance to read this great debut novel! Sara B. Larson has definitely become an author I eagerly await more from.
divider

It's the End of the Month As We Know It: December

Greetings everyone! I hope the holidays were wonderful for you and yours! As for things here, I had a very different, but very nice Christmas and New Year. Both were pretty low-key and I was able to enjoy time with my family. Book-wise, not much happened for me. I wasn't really in the mood to read a lot, so I didn't get too many books read. I'm definitely going to be playing catch up in January, that's for sure! Yikes. Hee hee. Let's recap, shall we?!

Reviews Done

Yeup, that's right. I didn't write a single review. Le sigh. Let's hope I'm better at this in 2014!
divider
Copyright © 2014 She Dreams in Fiction
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs