header

Blog Tour: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty (excerpt + giveaway)


Welcome to the Blog Tour for The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty! I am lucky enough to be hosting an excerpt from the book, so check that out, then enter the giveaway, follow the tour links at the end of this post, and enjoy hearing all about The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl! Happy reading, Dreamers!



The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
by Stacy McAnulty
Publish Date: 1 May 2018
Publisher: Random House
Pages: 304
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Age Range: Middle Grade
Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness

Purchase: iBooks | Book Depository | Barnes and Noble | Amazon


I turn to the 2nd page. The answers fly into my head in a swirl of colorful number shapes. In less than 2 minutes, I’m done. At least in my weirdly wired brain. I haven’t written anything yet. I look around the room. Heads are down. Pencils are moving. Levi’s desk is the closest. He’s only written his name and some calculations under the 1st problem. He’s got the answer wrong.

Suddenly, Levi turns and looks at me. I drop my head like he caught me watching him get dressed. I take my hair out of my headband and try to hide my face. I can’t see him, but somehow I still feel his eyes on me.

Mr. Stoker turns on a small speaker. Classical music that reminds me of a jewelry-store commercial fills the room.

“Relax, everyone,” he says. “Just do your best.”

I already know my best is going to be the class’s best. I might even be better than Mr. Stoker. Probably. It’s not his fault.

I glance again at Levi’s paper. He wrote 7 as the answer to question number 1. But he got his order of operations wrong. He needed to square before adding.
The answer is 41.

I write down 7.

I can’t hide my need to sit-stand or tap my toe 3 times, or my obsession with de-germing any and all surfaces. But I can hide my superpower. They don’t need to know. I’m not hurting anyone. I can fake it till I make it. I can fake being normal, and eventually I will be.

Maybe.

Slowly, I fill in the rest of the answers. I make 3 more mistakes. If this were for a grade, I’d get an 82, or a B. I plan on getting an A in the class. I mean, I don’t want to ruin my chances of getting into college next year.

Nana wants 1 year, 1 friend, 1 book, and 1 activity. I calculate this will be easier to achieve without being a freaky genius. I can be normal smart. It’s only middle school. This is about survival.


Stacy McAnulty is a children’s book author, who used to be a mechanical engineer, who’s also qualified to be a paleontologist (NOT REALLY), a correspondent for The Daily Show (why not), and a Green Bay Packer coach (totally!). She is the 2017 Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Honor Recipient for Excellent Ed, illustrated by Julia Sarcone-Roach. Her other picture books include Earth! My First 4.54 Billion Years, illustrated by David Litchfield; Max Explains Everything: Grocery Store Expert, illustrated by Deborah Hocking, Brave and Beautiful, both illustrated by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff; Mr. Fuzzbuster Knows He’s the Favorite, illustrated by Edward Hemingway; and 101 Reasons Why I’m Not Taking a Bath, illustrated by Joy Ang. She’s also authored the chapter book series Goldie Blox, based on the award-winning toys, and The Dino Files. Her debut middle grade novel, The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl, will publish in May 2018. When not writing, Stacy likes to listen to NPR, bake triple-chocolate cupcakes, and eat triple-chocolate cupcakes. Originally from upstate NY, she now lives in Kernersville, NC with her 3 kids, 3 dogs, and 1 husband.

3 winners will receive a finished copy of THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Week One:
4/23/2018- Beagles and Books- Interview
4/24/2018- Mrs. Knott's Book Nook- Review
4/25/2018- A Dream Within A Dream- Excerpt
4/26/2018- Here's to Happy Endings- Review
4/27/2018- She Dreams in Fiction- Excerpt

Week Two:
4/30/2018- 100 Pages A Day- Review
5/1/2018- Wonder Struck- Review
5/2/2018- Nerdophiles- Review
5/3/2018- The Underground- Guest Post
5/4/2018- Feed Your Fiction Addiction- Review

This tour is hosted by:

divider

No comments:

Post a Comment

I ADORE comments, so let me hear what you have to say! (PSST! Please let me help you keep your privacy. Don't leave any personal information - like your email address - in the comments. Thanks!)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © 2014 She Dreams in Fiction
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs