header

Review: Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe by Preston Norton


Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe
by Preston Norton
Published: 5 June 2018
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 416
Formats: Print and eBook
Ages: Young Adult
Source: Physical ARC provided by Publisher
My Rating: 5/5!
Cliff Hubbard is a huge loser. Literally. His nickname at Happy Valley High School is Neanderthal because he’s so enormous - 6’6″ and 250 pounds to be exact. He has nobody at school, and life in his trailer-park home has gone from bad to worse ever since his older brother’s suicide.

There’s no one Cliff hates more than the nauseatingly cool quarterback, Aaron Zimmerman. Then Aaron returns to school after a near-death experience with a bizarre claim: while he was unconscious he saw God, who gave him a list of things to do to make Happy Valley High suck less. And God said there’s only one person who can help: Neanderthal.

To his own surprise, Cliff says he’s in. As he and Aaron make their way through the List, which involves a vindictive English teacher, a mysterious computer hacker, a decidedly unchristian cult of Jesus Teens, the local drug dealers, and the meanest bully at HVHS, Cliff feels like he’s part of something for the first time since losing his brother. But fixing a broken school isn’t as simple as it seems, and just when Cliff thinks they’ve completed the List, he realizes their mission hits closer to home than he ever imagined.

Razor sharp, moving, and outrageously funny, Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe is an unforgettable story of finding your place in an imperfect world.

Purchase: IndieBound | iBooks | Book Depository | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

divider

Blog Tour: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty (excerpt + giveaway)


Welcome to the Blog Tour for The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty! I am lucky enough to be hosting an excerpt from the book, so check that out, then enter the giveaway, follow the tour links at the end of this post, and enjoy hearing all about The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl! Happy reading, Dreamers!



The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
by Stacy McAnulty
Publish Date: 1 May 2018
Publisher: Random House
Pages: 304
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Age Range: Middle Grade
Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness

Purchase: iBooks | Book Depository | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

divider

Blog Tour: Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington (excerpt + giveaway)


Welcome to the Blog Tour for Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington! Today, I get to host an awesome excerpt from the book! Go check that out, then enter the giveaway, follow the tour links by clicking the banner above, and enjoy everything Love Songs & Other Lies! Happy reading, Dreamers!




Love Songs & Other Lies
by Jessica Pennington
Publish Date: 24 April 2018
Publisher: Tor Teen
Pages: 288
Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook
Age Range: Young Adult
It's summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you'll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

Breaking Vee’s heart was never Cam’s plan. All he wanted senior year was a new life, in a new town, uninterrupted by the tragedy he left behind. Then Vee swept him into a whirlwind of friendship, musical adventure, and a love he didn’t expect or want. Now, he has a second chance to make it right. But things get complicated when ratings-crazy producers, cameramen, and fans are involved. Can he rewrite their love song with the whole world watching?

Sometimes the last note is just the beginning. Love Songs & Other Lies is the debut romance from Jessica Pennington that Katie McGarry calls "fun and full of heart with a hero who stole my heart!”

Purchase: Book Depository | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

divider

Release Day Blitz: Perfectly Misunderstood by Robin Daniels (excerpt + giveaway)


Welcome to the release day blitz for Perfectly Misunderstood by Robin Daniels! This book is the last in the Perfect series, so if you haven't read those books yet, go HERE to snag them. Then be sure to check out Perfectly Misunderstood below, complete with an awesome excerpt and giveaway at the bottom! Happy reading, Dreamers!



Perfectly Misunderstood
by Robin Daniels
Series: Perfect #4
Publishing date: 4 April 2018
Publisher: Bluefields
Format: Kindle
Pages: 346
Age Level: Young Adult
This dual perspective book is the final installment in the Perfect Series but can be read as a stand-alone.

Jayden Valdez is an overachieving intellectual. Mike McGinnes is Franklin High School’s dumbest jock. Even though they barely know each other, she finds his personality repulsive and he thinks she’s got a giant stick up her you know what. Mike and Jayden are surprised and annoyed when their teacher pairs them together for Spanish tutoring. Both feel it’s a complete waste of time, since nobody could learn from a person who bugs the crap out of them. Not to mention that their reputations might be ruined if people realize what they’re doing. But it doesn’t take long for Jayden to discover that Mike has a secret—he isn’t the person he appears to be. Much to her dismay, Jayden finds 'Secret Mike' strangely attractive. And for some crazy reason, Mike is amused by Jayden’s clever insults and witty banter. Suddenly, they have a much bigger problem than their mutual disdain. What started as irritating tension is beginning to feel more like romantic tension and acting on it would be a very bad idea.


Purchase: Amazon

divider

Book Blast: Ellie, Engineer by Jackson Pearce (+giveaway)



Welcome to the Nerd Blast for Ellie, Engineer by Jackson Pearce! This blast is hosted by Jean Book Nerd Tours. This book looks adorable and super fun, so be sure to check out Ellie, Engineer below and enter to win the awesome giveaway at the bottom! Happy reading, Dreamers!



Ellie, Engineer
by Jackson Pearce
Series: Ellie, Engineer
Publishing date: 16 January 2018
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 192
Age Level: Middle Grade
The hilarious and smart start of a series about a girl who loves to build—STEM-powered, creative fun for girls.

Ellie is an engineer. With a tool belt strapped over her favorite skirt (who says you can’t wear a dress and have two kinds of screwdrivers handy, just in case?), she invents and builds amazing creations in her backyard workshop. Together with her best friend Kit, Ellie can make anything. As Kit’s birthday nears, Ellie doesn’t know what gift to make until the girls overhear Kit’s mom talking about her present—the dog Kit always wanted! Ellie plans to make an amazing doghouse, but her plans grow so elaborate that she has to enlist help from the neighbor boys and crafty girls, even though the two groups don’t get along. Will Ellie be able to pull off her biggest project yet?

Illustrated with Ellie’s sketches and plans, and including backmatter with how-tos, this is full of engineering fun!


divider
Copyright © 2014 She Dreams in Fiction
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs