header

Book Tour: Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich (excerpt + giveaway)


Welcome to the Blog and Bookstagram Tour for Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich! This tour is hosted by Rockstar Book Tours and includes reviews and excerpt on blogs and Instagram. There is even a great giveaway happening to celebrate! So check out the details for the book below, enter the giveaway, and follow the tour for the next two weeks for awesome content on Teeth in the Mist! Happy reading, Dreamers!



Teeth in the Mist
by Dawn Kurtagich
Pub. Date: 11 June 2019
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook
Pages: 352
A genre-bending epic horror-fantasy, inspired by the legend of Faust, that spans generations as an ancient evil is uncovered--perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Ransom Riggs.

Before the birth of time, a monk uncovers the Devil's Tongue and dares to speak it. The repercussions will be felt for generations...

Sixteen-year-old photography enthusiast Zoey has been fascinated by the haunted, burnt-out ruins of Medwyn Mill House for as long as she can remember--so she and her best friend, Poulton, run away from home to explore them. But are they really alone in the house? And who will know if something goes wrong?

In 1851, seventeen-year-old Roan arrives at the Mill House as a ward--one of three, all with something to hide from their new guardian. When Roan learns that she is connected to an ancient secret, she must escape the house before she is trapped forever.

1583. Hermione, a new young bride, accompanies her husband to the wilds of North Wales where he plans to build the largest water mill and mansion in the area. But rumors of unholy rituals lead to a tragic occurrence and she will need all her strength to defeat it.

Three women, centuries apart, drawn together by one Unholy Pact. A pact made by a man who, more than a thousand years later, may still be watching...

 Add on Goodreads!

AD 977, Pant Tywyll
(Today, Meddwyn)


The monk hastens through the catacombs, past his brethren, who watch with inquisitive, yet chaste eyes. He is feverish, exultant. After twenty years of searching, he has found it at last.

He stumbles at the entrance to his alcove, stripping off his cassock and hood until he stands bare in the shadows. It takes a moment to light the rush candles.

He studies the pigeonholes, a number of which he carved with his own hands. They are the beds in which his scrolls rest. Their tanned scent is an old friend. It is an animal scent. Thick and putrid. This is his private collection. He is searching for the one he concealed twenty years earlier. Low down in the wall, it is hidden by his worktable.

He retrieves it with reverence.

It is old.

Older than time, but strong.

This one is not like others. Made from the skin, not of beast, but of man: flesh stitched together with spell-worked thread.

He unfurls it, the unholy words sliced into the scroll like wounds, still raw, and then he bends to remove the stolen parchment from his cassock on the floor—torn from a book in the great library. He places it next to the scroll, which seems alive, humming with power.

Yes, it seems to breathe. Yes.

He sits at his workbench. His hands tremble. Twenty years…twenty long years. He has sacrificed his life, his youth, his family, and his faith, and at last the answer has come to him. He knows the symbols. He knows the words.

It is an auspicious moment.

Here it is, then. He has acquired the Devil’s Tongue.

He closes his eyes. “Dimitte me.” Let me…

And begins to chant.

The candles glimmer and dance, rage, and then die. At once, the room is black; still like no room has ever been, nor will be for many years. It is a seeping gloom, which only grows thicker.

The monk releases his breath—which would fog, could he see it—and listens.

Torturously, the rocks rumble, growing louder. A demon stretching in his lair. Stones and sands fall from cracks in the walls.

A voice older than time is in the rocks.

It is the rocks.

The words quake in his core.

WHO DARES SPEAK MY TONGUE?

The monk replies and his words are no longer human.

3 lucky winners will get a finished copy of Teeth in the Mist | US Only
a Rafflecopter giveaway





Dawn Kurtagich is an award winning author of creepy, spooky, and psychologically sinister YA, where girls may descend into madness, boys may see monsters in men, and grown-ups may have something to hide.

Her debut novel, The Dead House, was a YALSA Top 10 Pick, An Audie Award Nominee and an Earphone Award Winner. It has been optioned for TV by Lime Productions. She is also the author of The Creeper Man/And the Trees Crept In, Naida, and Teeth in the Mist, published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers and Orion Children's Books. If you enjoy a creeping chill along your spine, mystery and little bit of terror, then you're in the right place!

By the time she was eighteen, she had been to fifteen schools across two continents. The daughter of a British globe-trotter and single mother, she grew up all over the place, but her formative years were spent in Africa—on a mission, in the bush, in the city and in the desert.

She has been lucky enough to see an elephant stampede at close range, a giraffe tongue at very close range, and she once witnessed the stealing of her (and her friends’) underwear by very large, angry baboons. (This will most definitely end up in a book...). While she has quite a few tales to tell about the jumping African baboon spider, she tends to save these for Halloween!

When she was sixteen, she thought she'd be an astronomer and writer at the same time, and did a month-long internship at Cambridge's prestigious Cavendish Laboratories.

Dawn vlogs on her youtube channel and can be found hanging around Twitter and Instagram.

Blog Tour
Week One
*6/3/2019- She Dreams in Fiction - Excerpt*
6/4/2019- Literary Meanderings - Excerpt
6/5/2019- Smada's Book Smack - Review
6/6/2019- Book Briefs - Review
6/7/2019- 100 Pages A Day- Review

Week Two
6/10/2019- A Dream Within A Dream - Review
6/11/2019- Book-Keeping - Review
6/12/2019- BookHounds YA - Review
6/13/2019- Confessions of a YA Reader - Review
6/14/2019- Two points of interest - Review

Instagram Tour
Week One
6/3/2019- fictitious.fox - Review
6/4/2019- jypsylynn - Review
6/5/2019- Riddle’s Reviews - Review
6/6/2019- Moonlight Rendezvous - Review
6/7/2019- Jena Brown Writes - Review

Week Two
6/10/2019- PopTheButterfly Reads - Review
6/11/2019- The Pages In-Between - Review
6/12/2019- A Bookish Dream - Review
6/13/2019- Wonder Struck - Review
6/14/2019- Pink Polka Dot Books - Review


This tour is hosted by

divider

2 comments:

  1. Can't wait to read this one! I've read all of her books so far and they are really great so looking forward to this one :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Doesn't this book sound amazing?! I can't wait for it, either! I just got the excerpt, too, so definitely read that. Thanks for commenting!

      Delete

I ADORE comments, so let me hear what you have to say! (PSST! Please let me help you keep your privacy. Don't leave any personal information - like your email address - in the comments. Thanks!)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © 2014 She Dreams in Fiction
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs